Home » Current Affairs » World Wide Web Inventor Wins Computing’s Nobel Prize

World Wide Web Inventor Wins Computing’s Nobel Prize

World Wide Web
Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Inventor of World Wide Web. (Image courtesy: Google)

Tim Berners-Lee, the man who invented the world wide web, has been honoured with the 2016 Turing Award, considered as the Nobel Prize of the computing world.

The award is present annually by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to an individual who made “major contributions of lasting importance to computing.”

It is named in honour of British mathematician and scientist Alan Turing and backed by a $1 million prize courtesy of Google.

About Tim Berners-Lee:

Britain-born Berners-Lee, who was honoured with a knighthood in 2003, pioneered the world wide web in 1989 while working at CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research.

He had developed it as a way to allow scientists across the world to share information.

His credits include the creation of a naming scheme (URLs), a communications protocol (HTTP) and a language for webpages (HTML).

In addition, he coded the first browser using open-source — that helped develop early browsers like Mosaic which popularised the world wide web beyond the world of academia.

The first-ever World Wide Web site went online in 1991.

The award will presented to Berners-Lee, who is founder of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and the World Wide Web Foundation, at the ACM’s annual banquet in San Francisco on June 24.

Berners-Lee currently works as a principal investigator at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory.

In a significant move, Berners-Lee decided against patenting his technology and instead offered it as royalty-free software.

That allowed other programmers to build upon the foundation he’d laid, spawning more than a billion websites today that have helped lure more than 3 billion people online.

Leave a Reply