Home » Current Affairs » Sports » Cricket » Team India Defeat New Zealand To Win 7th Straight ODI Series

Team India Defeat New Zealand To Win 7th Straight ODI Series

Team India
Image courtesy: Google

Spectacular tons from Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli followed by strategic bowling from Yuzvendra Chahal and Jasprit Bumrah helped Team India clinch seventh straight bilateral ODI series.

The third and final ODI against New Zealand, played at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur on Sunday (October 29), went down to the wire.

A record-breaking 230 run second-wicket partnership between Kaptan Kohli and his deputy Sharma helped team India put up  a challenging 337 for 6 in their 50 overs.

The clinical bowling in death overs from Chahal and Bumrah which followed stopped the visitors at 331 in response.

New Zealand got to a solid start with half centuries from Colin Munro (75 off 62), Kane Williamson (64 off 84) and Tom Latham (65 off 52).

However, Indian bowlers turned the tables in the last three overs.

Required to defend 15 runs in the final over, ‘King of Death’ Bumrah delivered yet again and conceded only eight runs in the 50th over.

This was Team India’s record 7th straight bilateral ODI series under captain Virat Kohli.

Meanwhile, Virat Kohli became the fastest batsman to score 9000 ODI runs. He also put up his 32nd ODI century.

Leave a Reply