Home » Current Affairs » Sports » Cricket » R Ashwin Wins ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award

R Ashwin Wins ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award

R Ashwin Wins ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award. (Image courtesy: Google)

Ravichandran Ashwin has become third player and 12th player overall for winning the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after named as the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016. He is following footsteps of Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010).

Other recipients of the Sir Garfield Trophy includes Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Shanderpaul (2008, Micheall Johnson (2009 and 2014, Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012), Micheal Clarke (2013) and Steve Smith (2015).

Source: TOT – Trending On Twitter

ICC Cricketer of the Year:

Ashwin was also adjudged the ICC test Cricketer of the Year. It made him only the second Indian player after Dravid (2004) to bag the two coveted prices in the same year. Kallis (2005), Ponting (2006), Sangakkara (2012), Clarke (2013), Johnson (2014) and Smith (2015) are the other players to annex both the awards in the same year.

Ashwin has picked up 72 wickets from 12 Tests this year, for which he was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. He even finds a place as the lone Indian in the Test XI. Besides bowling, even his batting has come of age too and has emerged as a formidable all-rounder of India in 12 tests.

Ashwin possess two centuries and three fifties. Further adding to the same he says, “It’s an absolute pressure to be awarded with this great honor. It feels great to follow the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid in being named as the ICC Cricketer of the Year. To also win the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year makes it even better.”

Further adding he says, “There are a lot of people to thank for this wonderful achievement I have made. It has been a great couple of years but this year has been even more special. What is very noticeable is the way I have bowled and batted and the way I have gone about doing my business. What is more important, as far as I am concerned, is the number of people who have gone behind my success.”

“I’d like to dedicate this award to my family. I’d like to thank ICC and most importantly my team-mates. I’d also like to thank the support staff for our success. We’ve had a great transition ever since Mahendra Singh Dhoni hung up his boots. A young captain has taken over, we fell on the right track, and we now have a new bunch of boys.”

Achievement over other Cricketers:

Even the India’s limited over Vice-Captain Virat Kohli has been named as the Captain of the ODI side. There are sections which has expressed surprise over the exclusion of Kohli from the Test side. Yet Kohli’s purple patch will only begun during the New Zealand series which will begun in October.

Alastair Cook, despite his recent loss of 0-4 to India has been appointed as captain of the Test XI. This is the third time Cook has been appointed captain of the Test side. Wicketkeeper-batsman of South Africa Quinton de Kock has been named as the ICC ODI cricketer of the year with 857 runs from 17 matches. It even includes three centuries and three fifties

Three of the Indian cricketers – Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja and Kohli has found a place in the ODI set-up. Test skipper of Pakistan Misbah ul Haq was given the Spirit of Cricket award while the Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman was named as the emerging player of the year.

Leave a Reply