Home » Current Affairs » Jasprit Bumrah breaks T20I world record

Jasprit Bumrah breaks T20I world record

India failed to level the two-match series against West Indies on Sunday as the second T20I was called off due to wet outfield, but Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah registered his name to the record books with his spell of 2 for 26 in Lauderhill, USA. Bumrah was impressive in the first match also and took two for 47.

Bumrah now has 28 wickets for India in 21 T20Is in 2016 and he went past former Australia quick Dirk Nannes’ record of taking highest number of wickets in the shortest format of the game in a calendar year 2010.

Nannes had taken 27 wickets in 14 matches in 2010, so since 2010 this record was unbroken. Boom India youngster Jasprit Bumrah has added his name to the record books after capturing the most T20 International wickets in a calendar year.

Bumrah, who made his T20I debut in January against Australia, also took 15 wickets for Mumbai Indians in this year’s Indian Premier League.

He is slowly but steadily becoming India’s most reliable bowler in the limited-over cricket. Bumrah’s performance is improving after every series and he has also become MS. Dhoni’s go-to bowler.

His ability to bowl yorkers at will, using variation in pace and his consistency with line and length are some of the reasons that makes Bumrah so successful.

R. Ashwin, who also took two wickets on Sunday, now has 23 wickets in T20Is in 2016 and with 52 overall wickets, he has the most by any Indian bowler in the format. Ashwin also became the first Indian bowler to take 200 T20 wickets. Pakistan dominate the T20I top wicket-takers list since the inaugural match in 2005, with Shahid Afridi (97), Umar Gul and Saeed Ajmal (85 each) occupying the top three places.

Leave a Reply